13 file to replace Zakaib on Kanawha bench

By Chris Dickerson | Sep 16, 2014

CHARLESTON – Thirteen attorneys are on the list of candidates to replace a retiring Kanawha County circuit judge.

The list, released Tuesday by Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin’s office, includes a former state Attorney General candidate and at least one who will be on the ballot for the same seat in the 2016 election.

Those listed are Webster Arceneaux III, Dan Greear, Richard Lindtroth, Leah Perry Macia, Erica Mani, Benjamin Mishoe, John Mitchell Jr., Richard Monahan, Gary Pullin, Charles Francis Woods Saffer, Walton Shepherd III, Joanna Tabit and Lisa Tackett.

Greear, who ran for attorney general in 2008, currently is Chief Counsel for current AG Patrick Morrisey.

Tabit, an attorney with Steptoe & Johnson in Charleston, has said she plans to be on the ballot in 2016 for the Kanawha bench.

The list was submitted to the governor’s office by the Judicial Vacancy Advisory Council. Recommendation letters for these candidates are due by Sept. 19, and the council will conduct interviews Sept. 26.

Debra Scudiere, who heads the JVAC, said she hopes to submit two to five names from this list back to Tomblin’s office soon after the Sept. 26 interviews.

Zakaib, 81, submitted his resignation letter in July and retired at the end of August. The West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals appointed him as a senior status judge for Kanawha County until Tomblin appoints his replacement.

More News

The Record Network