Members of AG's Citizens Advisory Committee announced

By Chris Dickerson | Apr 6, 2007


CHARLESTON -- Attorney General Darrell McGraw's office has announced the names of the members of his newly formed Citizens Advisory Committee.

The panel of 33 state residents was created to help the AG's office deal with consumer protection issues.

The Citizen Advisory Committee is "partnering with the Attorney General's Office to strengthen and expand consumer protection," McGraw said in announcing the formation of the group. "This new channel of communication reinforces a strong foundation for the partnership between communities, the Citizen's Advisory Committee, and the Attorney General's Office.

"Ultimately this network will link communities together, stifling the efforts of scams and unlawful business practices through community outreach."

McGraw said the Citizen Advisory Committee will create community awareness, involvement and education.

"These tools are essential in expanding our consumer protection efforts," he said.

The members of the Citizen Advisory Committee, with their home county in parentheses, are:

Susan Tucker (Monongalia), John Pyles (Monongalia), Dave Houser (Preston), William Cook (Boone), Leon Newman (Fayette), David Gobel (Taylor), Martin Shaffer (Harrison), Corley Dennison IV (Harrison), Ruth Wagner (Pleasants), Michael Gissy (Lewis), Virginia Barnette (Upshur), Edward Knotts (Preston), Kathi Ferrebbee (Tyler), Thomas McCulloch (Ohio), Charles Terry (Marshall), Diane Parker (Taylor), David Lyle (Brooke), Larry Nelson (Kanawha), Kelly Davis (Jefferson), Peter Wilson (Jefferson), Robert Mayhew (Hampshire), Carmen Sillman (Hardy), Jon McKinney (Wyoming), Nelson Spencer (Mercer), Judy Hale (Kanawha), Charles Delauder (Tyler), Sterling Ball (Wood), Kenneth Mattson (Berkeley), Letha Dent (Logan), Pam Neal (Cabell), Natalie Stone (Monongalia), Michael Hagg (Ohio) and Tanya Musick (Monongalia).

Most of the members of the committee are not known to most state residents.

Delauder and Hale are presidents of the West Virginia Education Association and West Virginia Federation of Teachers, respectively. Mattson has filed pre-candidacy papers to run for the House of Delegates, and Pyles is a member of the Monongalia County Commission.

The group's first meeting is scheduled for April 13.

More News

The Record Network