PERSONNEL FILE: Kanawha Magistrate Aaron to receive King award

By The West Virginia Record | Dec 23, 2009


CHARLESTON -- Kanawha County Magistrate Kim Aaron has been selected by the Martin Luther King Jr. West Virginia Holiday Commission to be honored with the "Living the Dream" Sharing of Self award.

The Sharing of Self award is for her commitment to helping others in the public and private sector. Each year the Commission presents five "Living the Dream" awards to those who best exemplify, through action and personal traits, the principles and ideals characterizing Reverend King in his pursuit for social change. The five award categories are Human & Civil Rights, Advocate of Peace, Scholarship, Sharing of Self and Governor's Living the Dream award.

All five recipients, who have shown their dedication to keeping with the legacy of Dr. King, will be recognized at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Luncheon at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Jan. 16, in the Great Hall of the West Virginia Cultural Center.

Aaron is the first Magistrate to ever have been selected for this statewide award.

Board Members are:

Jon Amores, Esq., Charleston; Mr. Jim Bowen, Charleston; Dr. Charlene Byrd, Nitro; Dr. Hazo W. Carter Jr., Institute; Mr. Franklin D. Cleckley, Esq., Morgantown; Rev. Homer Davis, Charleston; Mr. Ted Dues, Esq., South Charleston; Dr. Virginia C. Edwards, Institute; Ms. Kay Goodwin, Charleston; Rev. Emanuel Heyliger, Dunbar; Mrs. Mildred Holt, Dunbar; Judge Tod Kaufman, Charleston; Dr. Steven Paine, Charleston; Justice Larry Starcher, Charleston; Mr. L. Newton Thomas Jr., Charleston; Mr. James A. Tolbert, Charles Town; Ms. Patricia Petty Wilson, Dunbar; Mr. J.D. Waggoner, Malden

Past Sharing of Self Winners are:
2008 Roslyn Clark-Artis, Esq., Beckley; 2007 Rashida A. Khakoo, M.D., Star City; 2006 Oree Banks, Dunbar; 2005 Judson Wallace, Montgomery; and 2004 Dr. Donald Rasmussen

More News

The Record Network