133 companies named in asbestos suits

By Kyla Asbury | Jan 14, 2010

CHARLESTON -- Three people named 133 companies in two asbestos-related lawsuits.

Francis J. LaRosa, Jeanette M. LaRosa and Raymond E. Brewer Jr., who is the executor of the Estate of the late Raymond E. Brewer Sr., named the 133 companies for Mr. LaRosa and Brewer Sr.'s asbestosis and mesothelioma, according to a complaint filed Dec. 8 in Kanawha Circuit Court.

The plaintiffs claim Mr. LaRosa and Brewer Sr. were exposed to asbestos-containing products during their careers with the defendants.

According to the 14-count lawsuit, the companies failed to warn the plaintiffs of the dangers of the asbestos-containing products and failed to test the asbestos-containing products and remove them.

The plaintiffs are seeking damages, both jointly and severally, for an amount above the court's jurisdictional minimum. They are being represented by David P. Chervenick, Bruce E. Mattock and Lee W. Davis of Goldberg, Persky & White; and Scott S. Segal of the Segal Law Firm.

The cases have been assigned to a visiting judge.

The companies named in the case are 20th Century Glove Corporation; A.O. Smith Corporation; Ajax Magnethermic Corporation; Alliance Machine Company; Allied Glove Corporation; Allis-Chalmers Corporation; American Optical Corporation; Anchor Packing Company; Anderson Greenwood & Co.; Argo Packing Company; Armstrong International, Inc.; Atlas Industries, Inc.; Aurora Pump Company; A.W. Chesterton; Bayer Cropscience, Inc.; Beazer East, Inc.; Bechtel Corporation; Borg-Warner Corporation; Brand Insulations, Inc.; Buffalo Pumps, Inc.; Cameron International Corporation; CBS Corporation; Certainteed Corporation; Cleaver-Brooks Company, Inc.; Cooper Industries, Inc.; Copes-Vulcan, Inc.; Coppus Turbines; Crane Co.; Crown, Cork & Seal USA, Inc.; Dana Corporation; Didier Taylor Refractories Corporation; Dravo Corporation; Durabla Manufacturing Company; Earl B. Beach Company; Eaton Corporation; Eichleay Corporation; Elliott Company; F.B. Wright Company; Fairmont Supply Company; Famous Furnace & Supply Co.; Fisher Controls International, LLC; Flinn & Dreffein Eng. Co.; Flowserve US, Inc.; Flowserve FSD Corporation; Flowserve US, Inc. as successor to Valtek International; Foseco, Inc.; Foster Wheeler Energy Corporation; the Gage Company; Gardner Denver, Inc.; Garlock Sealing Technologies, LLC; General Electric Company; General Refractories Company; Gentex Corporation; George V. Hamilton, Inc.; Goodrich Corporation; Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company; Goulds Pumps; Graybar Electric Company, Inc.; Greene Tweed & Co.; Grinnell Corporation; Hedman Mines LTD; Hinchliffe & Keener, Inc.; Honeywell International, Inc.; Honeywell, Inc.; Howden Buffalo, Inc.; I U North American, Inc.; IMO Industries, Inc.; Industrial Holdings Corporation; Ingersoll-Rand Company; Insul Company, Inc.; ITT Corporation; J.H. France Refractories Company; John Crane, Inc.; Joy Technologies, Inc.; Leslie Controls, Inc.; Lockheed Martin Corporation; Luckenheimer; Magnetek, Inc.; Mallinckrodt, Inc.; Manitowoc Company, Inc.; Metropolitan Life Insurance Company; Milton Roy Company; Morgan Engineering, Inc.; Mueller Steam Specialty; Nagle Pumps, Inc.; National Service Industries, Inc.; Nitro Industrial Coverings, Inc.; NL Industries, Inc.; North American MFG. Co.; O.C. Keckley Company; Oglebay Norton Company; Owens-Illinois, Inc.; P&H Mining Equipment, Inc.; Parker-Hannifin Corp.; Peerless Pumps, Inc.; Pneumo Abex Corporation; Premier Refractories, Inc.; Reading Crane; Rhone-Poulenc AG Company, Inc.; Riley Power, Inc.; Rockwell Automations, Inc.; Roper Pump Company; Rust Constructors, Inc.; Rust Engineering & Construction, Inc.; Safety First Industries, Inc.; Sager Corporation; Saint-Gobain Abrasives, Inc.; Spirax Sarco, Inc.; Square D Company; Sterling Fluid Systems (US), LLC; Sundyne Corporation; SVI Corporation; Tasco Insulations, Inc.; Townsend & Bottum, Inc.; Trane U.S., Inc.; UB West Virginia, Inc.; Unifrax Corporation; Union Carbide Corporation; Universal Refractories Corporation; U.S.F. & G. Insurance Company; Viacom, Inc.; Viking Pump, Inc.; Vimasco Corporation; Warren Pumps, Inc.; Washington Group International; Waste Management, Inc.; Watson McDaniel Company; Weil-McLain Company; Westinghouse Airbrake; Whiting Corporation; William Powell Company; and Yarway Corporation.

Kanawha Circuit Court case numbers: 09-C-2252, 09-C-2253

More News

The Record Network