PERSONNEL FILE: Monte Williams appointed to W.Va. Ethics Commission

By The West Virginia Record | Apr 21, 2010

MORGANTOWN -– Steptoe & Johnson is pleased to announce that Gov. Joe Manchin has appointed Monte L. Williams to the State's Ethics Commission.

A former West Virginia State Trooper, Williams is a graduate of West Virginia University (J.D., M.A., B.A.), and focuses his practice on litigation, with experience defending civil rights, contract, medical malpractice, first and third party bad faith, personal injury, products liability, and premises liability cases. In addition, he is a member of the firm's Diversity Committeeand chairs the Morgantown office's Wellness Committee.

Williams served on the Board of Governors for the West Virginia State Bar, as the Monongalia/Marion Counties District Representative for the Young Lawyers Section of West Virginia State Bar, and the Young Lawyers Liaison to the Trial Tactics Committee of the Defense Research Institute.

Williams is also chairperson of the Defense Research Institute's Young Lawyers Diversity Subcommittee and a member of the Defense Trial Counsel of West Virginia. Williams is a charter member and chairperson of the West Virginia Black Lawyers Alumni Association. Before his current participation in Leadership West Virginia, Williams completed Leadership Monongalia.

Williams is recognized as a Super Lawyers Rising Star, and he is frequently asked to deliver presentations at legal seminars, trade association meetings and to the community.

Steptoe & Johnson is a business-focused firm with strengths in energy, labor, employment and litigation. It comprises over 180 lawyers resident in eight locations throughout West Virginia, Ohio, and Kentucky. For nearly a century, Steptoe & Johnson has demonstrated its commitment to quality, devoting personal attention, experience, skill, and resources to client-focused service.

The West Virginia Ethics Commission was created in 1989 to implement and enforce a code of ethical conduct enacted by the Legislature for public servants. The Commission consists of twelve members appointed to five-year terms by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

For more information, visit the firm's website at

More News

The Record Network