CHARLESTON -- The state's Judicial Vacancy Advisory Commission met for the first time last week.

During its Oct. 6 meeting, Debra Scudiere was elected chairperson of the commission and Charles S. Trump IV was elected vice-chair.

The meeting also served as the organizational session for the Third Judicial Circuit vacancy.

Applications are currently being accepted by the commission and are due Oct. 25. Interviews will be held on Nov. 16 at the state Capitol.

The commission also will consider the expected vacancy in the Sixth Judicial Circuit, which serves Cabell County, in November.

In the coming months, the commission says it plans to develop rules and regulations that will apply to upcoming judicial vacancies.

Appointed members of the commission include Kent Carper of Charleston, Sam Duncan of Huntington, Bert Ketchum of Huntington, Kenny Perdue of Fairmont, Steve Robey of Charleston, Scudiere of Morgantown, Trump of Berkeley Springs and Don Wagenheim of Wheeling.

West Virginia University School of Law Dean Joyce McConnell, State Bar President Letitia Chafin, and Jonathan Deem, designee of Gov. Joe Manchin, are ex officio members of the commission.

More News