Davis

Moats

CHARLESTON -– Supreme Court Justice Robin Jean Davis and Nineteenth Circuit Judge Alan Moats have released the tentative schedule of their regional meetings on truancy.

The public is invited to all the meetings and no registration is needed.

The schedule is tentative because something emergent may come up either before the Supreme Court or before Moats in Barbour or Taylor Counties that would necessitate rescheduling.

* 10 a.m. Tuesday, Sept. 13, Courtroom No. 4, old Kanawha County
Courthouse, Charleston

* 10 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 15, Circuit Judge Thomas A. Bedell's Courtroom, Harrison County Courthouse, Clarksburg

* 10 a.m. Friday, Sept. 16, Courtroom No. 1, Monongalia County Courthouse, Morgantown

* 10 a.m. Friday, Sept. 23, Main Courtroom, Greenbrier County Courthouse, Lewisburg

* 10 a.m. Friday, Oct. 7, Courtroom No. 3, Cabell County Courthouse,
Huntington

* 10 a.m. Thursday, Oct. 27, Circuit Judge Gary Johnson's Courtroom, Nicholas County Courthouse, Summersville

* 10 a.m. Friday, Oct. 28, Courtroom No. 302, Logan County Courthouse,
Logan

* 10 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 1, Berkeley County Judicial Center, Martinsburg

* 10 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 2, Mineral County Courthouse, Keyser

* 10 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 3, Randolph County Courthouse, Elkins

* 10 a.m. Friday, Nov. 4, Courtroom B, Raleigh County Courthouse, Beckley

* 10 a.m. Monday, Nov. 7, Main Circuit Court Courtroom, Mason County
Courthouse, Point Pleasant

* 10 a.m. Monday, Nov. 14, Circuit Judge Arthur Recht's Courtroom,
City/County Building, Wheeling

* 10 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 15, Circuit Judge J.D. Beane's Courtroom, Wood
County Judicial Building, Parkersburg

Davis encourages parents, educators, social service workers, court officials, and anyone who works with children on a daily basis to attend. Davis has been appointed by the Supreme Court to coordinate and expand judicial truancy programs in West Virginia.

She will be accompanied at all the meetings by Moats, who began an antitruancy and dropout program in his area when he realized he was seeing many of the same people appear before him in criminal cases who had appeared before him in truancy cases. He did some research and discovered that more than 50 percent of Barbour and Taylor County students miss more than ten days of school each year.

More News