Supreme Court statewide e-filing system to be fully implemented by 2021

By Kyla Asbury | Feb 13, 2019

CHARLESTON — West Virginia is on its way to having a fully uniform e-filing system across all 55 counties over the next few years.

Pat Moats, the director of technology at the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals said the system should be fully implemented by 2021.

"CourtPLUS & WV E-file will be deployed to all circuit and family courts across the state," Moats said in an interview with The West Virginia Record. "It will offer electronic filing of court records and an electronic document depository, which will eliminate the need for paper court records over time."

Moats said the main purpose of the application is to modernize the court courts and the circuit clerk's offices statewide, increase efficiency and transparency and provide uniformity across all counties. 

"Historically, the counties have operated individual case and financial management systems, which meant increased county costs and responsibility and very financial processes in each county," Pats said. "Unified case management brings modernization and standardization, which increases efficiency, transparency and accountability, as well as enhancing the accuracy of court statistics and financial records. 

Moats said 14 counties currently are using CourtPLUS and WV E-file, which is 25 percent of the state.

"Anticipated rollout by the end of 2019 is over half the state," Moats said. "By the end of 2020, about 85 percent of the state, which means by the end of 2021, we should have unified case management and e-filing system in place for all family and circuit courts. We're very excited. "

Currently, Wayne, Monroe, Clay, Braxton, Gilmer, Webster, Marion, Pendleton, Hardy, Hampshire, Summers, Morgan, Berkeley and Jefferson counties have implemented the program.

Those anticipated to be enrolled by the end of 2019 are Mingo, Logan, Wyoming, McDowell, Mercer, Raleigh, Fayette, Greenbrier, Pocahontas, Nicholas, Mason, Putnam, Jackson, Roane and Calhoun counties.

By the end of 2020, Wood, Wirt, Ritchie, Lewis, Upshur, Randolph, Barbour, Taylor, Doddridge, Pleasants, Tyler, Wetzel, Marshall, Ohio, Brooke and Hancock counties should be fully enrolled in the program.

The remaining counties to be enrolled by the end of 2021 are Cabell, Kanawha, Harrison, Monongalia, Preston, Tucker, Grant and Mineral counties.

Want to get notified whenever we write about West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals ?

Sign-up Next time we write about West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals

More News

The Record Network