CHARLESTON – Jackson Kelly PLLC is pleased to announce that several of the firm’s attorneys were recently named by Best Lawyers® in the 2013 Women Leaders in Law. The seven honorees are featured in the January issue of The American Lawyer magazine.

Those who received this honor are Laura E. Beverage, Marcia Allen Broughton, Ellen S. Cappellanti, Elizabeth O. Lord, Shayne M. Madsen, Gale Lea Rubrecht and Lindsay Simmons.

Michael D. Foster, Jackson Kelly CEO, said, “The attorneys receiving this recognition are very deserving. They each demonstrate superior qualities – not only as firm-wide mentors, but also as leaders in the industries they serve and their communities.”

This recognition follows Law360’s recognition of the firm as one of the top 10 firms for female partners. The National Law Journal also recently reported Jackson Kelly as having the second highest percentage of equity partners who are women - based on data from the largest law firms in the country.

Beverage manages the firm’s Denver office where she practices in the firm’s nationally-recognized Occupational Safety & Health Practice Group. Beverage represents general industry, construction and mining clients in compliance issues, policy, legislative and regulatory matters, and civil and criminal enforcement issues, accident investigation and whistleblower claims on both state and federal levels.

Broughton is a member of the firm’s Tax Practice Group. Her practice is concentrated in the areas of estate planning, tax planning and business practices.

Cappellanti is the leader of the firm’s Commercial Law Practice Group. In her practice, she assists clients in a wide variety of commercial transactions, including financings, leasings, acquisitions and real estate development projects. She also regularly represents debtors, creditors and trustees in business bankruptcies and out of court restructurings.

Lord is a member of the firm’s Commercial Law Practice Group concentrating her practice in securities, mergers and acquisitions and corporate law. She represents both small and large businesses in structuring and negotiating business transactions in various industries, including the coal industry, as well as providing advice on general business and corporate law matters.

Madsen is the leader of the Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs Practice Group. Her practice focuses on public policy and government affairs, with an emphasis on election and campaign finance law, and in the real estate development area including the negotiation of economic development incentive packages with local government entities. She is widely recognized as an effective on-the-ground lobbyist with a track record of success and focuses on issues concerning alcoholic beverages, pari-mutuel racing, consumer data regulation, mining and water supply.

Rubrecht is a member of the firm’s Environmental Practice Group. She has more than 30 years’ experience in energy and environmental law, appellate advocacy, litigation and alternative dispute resolution. She represents manufacturers, coal companies, petroleum refineries, trade organizations, banking institutions, real estate developers, development authorities, landowners and other clients in state and federal energy and environmental law.

Simmons is a member of the firm’s Government Contracts and Investigations Practice Group. She focuses her practice upon the representation of domestic and international government contractors in connection with contract formation, administration and dispute resolution ‑ solving complex problems with governmental and private entities. This representation includes routine appearances before administrative, legislative and judicial bodies at the federal, state and local levels.

Jackson Kelly PLLC is a national law firm representing leading global corporations, national companies, entrepreneurs and individuals in areas of law such as environmental, business, labor and employment, federal and state workers’ compensation, civil litigation and occupational safety and health. The firm has offices in Colorado, Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and the District of Columbia.

More News