PERSONNEL FILE: WVBA has annual meeting, elects new officers

By The West Virginia Record | Sep 23, 2010

WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS -- The West Virginia Bar Association held its 124th Annual Meeting at The Greenbrier on Aug. 12-14.

Founded in 1886, The WVBA is among the oldest bar associations in the United States. Several speakers presented seminars, among them were Amber L. Hoback, member, Jackson Kelly, Charleston; Robert S. Conte, Resident Historian at The Greenbrier; Joyce E. McConnell, Dean, West Virginia University College of Law, Morgantown; Joseph Letnaunchyn, Executive Director, West Virginia Hospital Association, Charleston; Robert L. Reynolds, President & CEO, Putnam Investments, Boston; Morgan Winfree, Dixon-Hughes, Charleston; Richard A. Angelo, Vice President and Sr. Divisional Claims Counsel, First American Title Insurance Company, King of Prussia, Pa.; Virgil Helton, Secretary of West Virginia Department of Revenue, Charleston; and Gov. Joe Manchin.

During the meeting, The WVBA presented its prestigious Award of Merit for "outstanding lifetime of distinguished service to the legal profession and/or the judiciary in West Virginia," to James W. St. Clair. Presentation of the WVBA's highest award was made by WVBA President Stephen R. Crislip with assistance from the Andrew H. Miller, who made introductory remarks about St. Clair.

Past recipients of the Award of Merit are Edward I. Eiland, John O. Kizer, Charles R. McElwee, Charles F. Bagley Jr., Honorable Thomas B. Miller, John L. McClaugherty, Robert M. Steptoe Sr., Honorable Robert E. Maxwell and G. Thomas Battle, Howard M. Persinger Jr., Dean John W. Fisher II, Honorable John T. Copenhaver Jr. and Thomas E. Potter.

The meeting culminated with Logan M. Hassig from New Martinsville with Snyder & Hassig becoming Pesident of the WVBA; Andrew H. Miller from Huntington with Flynn, Max, Miller & Toney elected President-Elect and William J. Powell from Martinsburg with Jackson Kelly elected to the Executive Council replacing Past President Stephen R. Crislip.

John D. Hoblitzell III was elected President of the Young Lawyers Division replacing Jessica Alsop. Other members of the Executive Council are Patrick D. Deem, James C. Gardill, James W. St. Clair, President of the Senior Lawyers and Business Lawyers Divisions, R. Vance Golden III, President of the Real Estate Lawyers Division and Pryce M. Haynes II, Executive Director.

More News

The Record Network