LETTER TO THE EDITOR: 42 Democrat incumbents supported cap and trade

By The West Virginia Record | Aug 23, 2012

Dear Editor:

This week, the New Majority Fund PAC released the names of forty-two Democrats currently serving in the House of Delegates who are running for re-election who supported passage of West Virginia's cap and trade bill (HB 103) in 2009.

The West Virginia cap and trade bill requires West Virginia to reduce its use of electricity generated from coal-fired power plants and use more renewable energy sources, like wind and solar, by 2025.

"We think it's important for West Virginians to know the names of the Democrats who supported a mandate for our state to use less coal for energy production. There is no question that a mandate for less use of coal-fired electricity means fewer jobs for coal miners.

The following Democrats running for re-election supported West Virginia Cap and Trade: Larry Barker, Brent Boggs, Bonnie Brown, Sam Cann, Mike Caputo, Kevin Craig, Jeff Eldridge, Barbara Fleischauer, Ron Fragale, Nancy Guthrie, William Hartman, Barbara Hatfield, Mark Hunt, Richard Iaquinta, Tiffany Lawrence, Linda Longstreth, Tim Manchin, Mike Manypenny, Charlene Marshall, Tim Miley, Clif Moore, Jim Morgan, Brady Paxton, Don Perdue, David Perry, David Pethtel, Linda Phillips, Dan Poling, Mary Poling, Doug Reynolds, Stan Shaver, Doug Skaff, Margaret Smith, Margaret Staggers, Dale Stephens, Josh Stowers, Randy Swartzmiller, Rick Thompson, David Walker, Danny Wells, Harry Keith White and Larry Williams.

It's clear that these Democrats stood with President Obama and his "War on Coal" when they voted to enact West Virginia's cap and trade bill. We have a strong group of Republican candidates running to replace these folks who will make it a priority to repeal this legislation if elected.

Troy Andes

Editor's Note: Andes is chairman of the New Majority Fund PAC.

More News

The Record Network